A Cultural Experience of Sharing and Learning Together

Pictues provided by Marti Martin

In 1998, a group of women in Spokane, Washington eager for ethnicity and diversity, came together to discuss culturally relevant books written by
women authors.  Although the types of books have changed to include male authors and many cultural themes and membership has changed
overtime, the group is still comprised of a consistent, loyal, and amazingly awesome group of women with a myriad of backgrounds.
Site Updated 2/03/2019



5th Annual Book Academy Awards

Group 2012

2012 Award Nominees

"Shadow of the Wind" by Carols Ruiz Zafon

"Mudbound" by Hillary Jordan

"The Language of Flowers" by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

"Girl in Translation" by Jean Kwok

"The Silence of Trees" by Valya Dudycz Lupescu

"Into the Beautiful North" by Luis Alberto Urrea

"Pope Joan: A Novel" by Donna Woolfolk Cross

"Nothing to Envy" by Barbara Demick

 Past Results


  The Book Group proudly presents the 5th Annual Book Academy Award

Best Book
"The Shadow of the Wind"

Best Writing
"The Shadow of the Wind"

Best Story Line

"The Shadow of the Wind"

Best First Line
"The Shadow of the Wind"

Book that should be made into a Movie
"The Shadow of the Wind"

Best Male Character
Daniel Sempere-
"The Shadow of the Wind"

Best Female Character
Joan (John Anglicus)
"Pope Joan: A Novel"

Best Sex Scene
Mi-ran & Jun-sang's First Kiss-
"Nothing to Envy"

Best Twist
"Mudbound"- Who Killed Pappy?

Best Villain
Inspector Fumero-
"The Shadow of the Wind"

Best Hero
Ronsel- "Mudbound"

Best Twist
Who killed Pappy?- "Mudbound"

Best Quirky Character
Fermin Romero de Torres-
"The Shadow of the Wind"